dangerpuss

Peanut Butter Cookies

In Sweet Things on January 5, 2010 at 11:03 pm

Oh my god these are so good. I love peanut butter cookies, and I just couldn’t give them up despite my host of food allergies, so I had to figure out a way to make it work. My first few attempts were definitely less than stellar (although they couldn’t have been that bad since Lucas gamely ate them all up anyway), but now I’ve got it down. To me they are just right, but I have a slightly different palate as I grew up appreciating Chinese desserts. Some people might want to add a little more agave to make them even sweeter.

Yum!

Here you go:

1 cup Earth Balance
1 cup peanut butter
1 cup agave nectar
1 egg replacer thingy
1 ¾ cups GF flour
½ tsp vanilla
1 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 tsp baking powder
Optional: half a bag vegan chocolate chips, if you’re into that sort of thing. I know I am.

Cream together the EB, vanilla, peanut butter and agave. Make the egg replacer and beat it in. Combine the flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt separately, and then gradually stir into the peanut butter mixture. If you’re adding chocolate chips, add them after everything else is well mixed.

Cover and refrigerate the dough for at least one hour. If you don’t want to make them all at once you can make logs and wrap those in wax paper. I usually make one batch immediately and have two extra batches sitting in the fridge waiting to be made, as I love the smell of cookies baking almost more than I love to eat them. It smells like home to me.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Make small balls of dough. Flatten with fork to form cross-wise pattern.   Please note that these really spread out, so don’t pack them too closely.

Bake for 10 minutes, and ONLY 10 minutes, in the preheated oven. Because these are not your typical cookies they don’t act typical when you are baking them. Even though they don’t look done after 10 minutes, they are. Trust me. Pull them out, let them cool a little, and see for yourself. So good!

Leave a Reply

